A big congratulations to three of our MFAC faculty members for winning national book awards for their works of fiction at the ALA Midwinter Conference in Seattle. 

Meg Medina won the 2019 John Newbery Medal for her novel Merci Suárez Changes Gears.

The John Newbery Medal is awarded by the American Library Association to the “most distinguished children’s book” published every year.

Elana K. Arnold’s novel Damsel was selected as a Michael L. Printz Honor Book

The Michael L. Printz Award and Honor Books are ALA honors given for the best books written for teens each year. 

Emily Jenkins won the Sydney Taylor Book Award from the Association of Jewish Libraries for her picture book, All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah, illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky.

The award recognizes a work of literature for children and teens that authentically portrays the Jewish experience.

Our faculty continue to amaze us with their achievements. Last year, Nina LaCour won the Printz Award and Kelly Barnhill won the Newberry award two years ago. Several of our faculty have been National Book Award finalists.